Click here to show YOUR banners on this page and only pay for success

Airlines Airport Aviation Breaking Travel News Business Travel Crime Destination Government News News People Russia Safety Terror Tourism Transportation Travel Wire News

Russian airspace now closed to 36 countries

Russian airspace now closed to 36 countries
Russian airspace now closed to 36 countries
Written by Harry Johnson

Russian Federation has closed its airspace to dozens of European countries on Monday. Russia skies is also closed to Canada, as of today.

The countries banned from Russia’s airspace are:

  • Albania
  • Anguilla
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • British Virgin Islands,
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark (including Greenland, the Faroe Islands)
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Jersey
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • UK

Swiss International Airlines, which is owned by Germany’s Lufthansa, said that it had cancelled flights from Zurich to Moscow despite Switzerland not appearing on Russia’s list of banned countries.

Russian Federal Agency for Air Transport (Rosaviatsiya) said that planes from banned countries could only enter Russia’s airspace with special permission.

Russian ban came after the European Union banned Russian airlines from crossing into their airspace, in response to Russia’s brutal aggression against Ukraine.

Many European countries began banning Russian-owned airlines and Russian-registered aircraft from their airspace shortly after Moscow launched an invasion of Ukraine early Thursday morning.

On Sunday, European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen announced the closure of the entire EU airspace to Russian-linked flights.

Related News

About the author

Harry Johnson

Harry Johnson has been the assignment editor for eTurboNews for mroe than 20 years. He lives in Honolulu, Hawaii, and is originally from Europe. He enjoys writing and covering the news.

Leave a Comment

Share to...