Peru’s Foreign Trade and Tourism Minister signs Trans-Pacific Partnership in New Zealand


AUCKLAND, New Zealand – Peru’s Foreign Trade and Tourism Minister Magali Silva signed the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) agreement in New Zealand’s city of Auckland today along with her counterparts from 11 Pacific countries.

The agreement is set to benefit the export sector and contribute to turning Peru into an important investment market for the Asia-Pacific area, being allowed to export goods with all the TPP advantages.

Peruvian Minister Magali Silva said: “This is the first time a treaty of this magnitude is putting special emphasis in social policies, which will multiply the opportunities for small and medium companies and therefore improve people’s lives.” The Minister added that, “through the TPP alliance we are getting access to five new countries and this will generate stronger economic growth and create more jobs for Peruvians.”

The countries participating in the agreement are Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, United States, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore, Vietnam and Peru.

Now that the agreement was signed, there is a stance of ratification, in most cases through the Parliament like Peru. There will also be other meetings between the 12 nations like the one in November 2016 in Lima during the APEC’s week.