Government of Canada announces new heritage lighthouse designations


OTTAWA, Canada – The Government of Canada continues to preserve heritage lighthouses across Canada for future generations. Succeeding July’s announcement, the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, Catherine McKenna, along with Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard, have announced the designation of three more heritage lighthouses.

With these new designations, a total of 90 lighthouses in eight provinces have now been protected under the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act – and more designations will follow.

The lighthouses designated today are the St. Peters Harbour Lighthouse, a square, tapered, wooden lighthouse with an unusual hexagonal lantern located in Prince Edward Island; the Woody Point Lighthouse located in Newfoundland and Labrador, which is surrounded by Gros Morne National Park and is an important landmark from both land and water; and the Cape St. Marys Lighthouse located in Nova Scotia, one of a series of lighthouses from this location to provide navigational aid for shipping and fishing fleets in the Gulf of Maine and the Bay of Fundy for almost 150 years.

Among the 90 heritage lighthouses, 42 are to be managed by the federal government and 48 are to be managed by new, non-federal owners. Many community-based organizations and other levels of government are currently working with Fisheries and Oceans Canada to take over responsibility for the care and protection of many more lighthouses that are important to their communities.


“Canada’s heritage lighthouses are iconic symbols of our communities and have played a crucial role in keeping mariners safe. They are also important tourism attractions that contribute to local economies. Our Government is committed to protecting these cultural treasures and I encourage all Canadians to take the opportunity to learn more about our rich and diverse history, including our rich maritime traditions.”

Catherine McKenna

Minister of the Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

“Lighthouses are important symbols of our maritime history in coastal communities across Canada. I am thrilled to see these three lighthouses added to the list of those that have already received heritage designations. We will continue to protect these heritage sites for future generations of Canadians and visitors from around the world.”

The Honourable Dominic LeBlanc

Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard

Quick Facts

• The Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act, which is administered by Parks Canada, allows for the identification and protection of federally-owned lighthouses with heritage value. The federal government and other non-federal owners protect heritage lighthouses under the terms of this Act.

• The last time the federal government announced new heritage lighthouse designations (13) was on July 7, 2016.

• These designations are made by the Minister of Environment and Climate Change on the recommendation of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.