Click to join an upcoming live event

Turn off Ads (click)

Click on your language to translate this article:

Afrikaans Afrikaans Albanian Albanian Amharic Amharic Arabic Arabic Armenian Armenian Azerbaijani Azerbaijani Basque Basque Belarusian Belarusian Bengali Bengali Bosnian Bosnian Bulgarian Bulgarian Catalan Catalan Cebuano Cebuano Chichewa Chichewa Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Chinese (Traditional) Corsican Corsican Croatian Croatian Czech Czech Danish Danish Dutch Dutch English English Esperanto Esperanto Estonian Estonian Filipino Filipino Finnish Finnish French French Frisian Frisian Galician Galician Georgian Georgian German German Greek Greek Gujarati Gujarati Haitian Creole Haitian Creole Hausa Hausa Hawaiian Hawaiian Hebrew Hebrew Hindi Hindi Hmong Hmong Hungarian Hungarian Icelandic Icelandic Igbo Igbo Indonesian Indonesian Irish Irish Italian Italian Japanese Japanese Javanese Javanese Kannada Kannada Kazakh Kazakh Khmer Khmer Korean Korean Kurdish (Kurmanji) Kurdish (Kurmanji) Kyrgyz Kyrgyz Lao Lao Latin Latin Latvian Latvian Lithuanian Lithuanian Luxembourgish Luxembourgish Macedonian Macedonian Malagasy Malagasy Malay Malay Malayalam Malayalam Maltese Maltese Maori Maori Marathi Marathi Mongolian Mongolian Myanmar (Burmese) Myanmar (Burmese) Nepali Nepali Norwegian Norwegian Pashto Pashto Persian Persian Polish Polish Portuguese Portuguese Punjabi Punjabi Romanian Romanian Russian Russian Samoan Samoan Scottish Gaelic Scottish Gaelic Serbian Serbian Sesotho Sesotho Shona Shona Sindhi Sindhi Sinhala Sinhala Slovak Slovak Slovenian Slovenian Somali Somali Spanish Spanish Sudanese Sudanese Swahili Swahili Swedish Swedish Tajik Tajik Tamil Tamil Telugu Telugu Thai Thai Turkish Turkish Ukrainian Ukrainian Urdu Urdu Uzbek Uzbek Vietnamese Vietnamese Welsh Welsh Xhosa Xhosa Yiddish Yiddish Yoruba Yoruba Zulu Zulu
Travel News

ASTA Board elects Executive Committee

Written by editor

ALEXANDRIA, VA (September 8, 2008) – At THETRADESHOW in Orlando, ASTA’s Board of Directors elected its new Executive Committee.

ALEXANDRIA, VA (September 8, 2008) – At THETRADESHOW in Orlando, ASTA’s Board of Directors elected its new Executive Committee. Chris Russo was elected as ASTA president and CEO, and will serve with Hope Wallace, CTC, who was elected to the position of vice president and secretary. George Delanoy was re-elected to serve as ASTA’s treasurer. Also serving on the Executive Committee will be Roger Block, CTC, as director-at-large, who was elected chair of the Corporate Advisory Council (CAC), and Bill Maloney, CTC, ASTA executive vice president and COO (ex officio).

The 2008-2009 Executive Committee will serve a year term that commenced at the end of THETRADESHOW. The Executive Committee consists of the President and CEO, Vice President Secretary, Treasurer, the Corporate Advisory Council (CAC) Chair and ASTA’s Executive Vice President and COO (non-voting).

Serving on ASTA’s 2008-2009 full elected Board of Directors will be:

Chris Russo , president and CEO*;

Hope Wallace, CTC, vice president and secretary*;

George Delanoy, treasurer*;

Roger Block, director-at-large (CAC chair)*;

Bill Maloney, CTC, ASTA executive vice president and COO (ex officio)*;

Lila A. Ford, CTC, director-at-large;

Lynda Maxwell, CTC, director-at-large;

Mike McCulloh, director-at-large;

Irene C. Ross, CTC, director-at-large;

Kari Thomas, CTC, director-at-large;

Carol Wagner, director-at-large;

Ellen Bettridge, director-at-large (CAC vice-chair);

Patrick Byrne (Upstate New York); Chapter Presidents Council Chair

John Lovell ( Michigan); CPC representative

Scott Pinheiro, ( Northern California), CPC representative;

ICPC chair (To be elected on Sept. 9)

(* Executive Committee)

ASTA’s governance structure calls for a Board of Directors that consists of nine national directors elected at-large for two-year, staggered terms, three chapter presidents, the chair of the International Chapter Presidents’ Council (ICPC), and two Corporate Advisory Council (CAC) members.

ASTA’s International Chapter Presidents Council (ICPC) will hold election at its next meeting.

The mission of the American Society of Travel Agents and its affiliated organizations is to enhance the professionalism and profitability of members worldwide through effective representation in industry and government affairs, education and training, and by identifying and meeting the needs of the traveling public.