La Digue 15th August Celebrations Yatch Race in Seychelles won by Skipper Bernard Moutia in boat “Freedom”


The annual 15th August Yatch Race of La Digue Island again saw a group of dedicated sailors depart Mahe in what has now become the Yatch Race of these celebrations.

This year with a reasonable wind, the race was not hampered by the rough August seas. The boats were set off at 9 am from Mahe and they entered La Digue just before four pm with boat “Freedom” skippered by Bernard Moutia taking first place.

The runner-up was boat “Zephyr” skippered by Christophe Houareau. In 3rd. place was boat “Katiti” skippered by Alan Mason followed in 4th place by boat “Everglow” skippered by Peter Konig and in 5th place was boat “Kat Pat” skippered by Patrick Lablache.

At the prize giving ceremony at La Passe in La Digue was Minister Alain St.Ange, the Minister responsible for Tourism and Culture who presented the 2016 Race Winner Bernard Moutia with his trophy It was Anne Lafortune, the PS for Tourism who presented 2nd. Place winners Christophe Houareau with his trophy.

The prize giving ceremony on the SBC (Seychelles Broadcasting Corporation) Stage was witnessed by all sailing enthusiasts and a crowd of revellers who were on La Digue for the annual 15th August Feast of the Assumption.