Air Canada announces election of directors


MONTREAL, Canada – Air Canada announced today that all of the nominees listed in the management proxy circular dated March 24, 2016 were elected as directors of Air Canada at the company’s Annual Meeting of Shareholders which was held on Tuesday, May 10, 2016 in Halifax.

All of the nominees have already been serving as directors of Air Canada, except for Kathleen Taylor who was a new nominee. The Corporation is pleased to welcome Ms. Taylor to the Air Canada Board of Directors. She is the Chair of the Board of the Royal Bank of Canada and a director of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board and the Adecco Group. Ms. Taylor is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts where she served in a variety of senior leadership roles during her 24-year career.

She is the Chair of the Board of the Hospital for Sick Children Foundation, the Chair of the Principal’s International Advisory Board of McGill University and a member of the Dean’s Advisory Council of the Schulich School of Business of York University.

Each of the directors was elected by a majority of the votes cast by shareholders present or represented by proxy at the meeting. The results of the vote are detailed below.

Nominee Votes For % For Votes Withheld % Withheld

Christie J.B. Clark 132,354,068 94.67 7,451,277 5.33
Michael M. Green 135,378,606 96.83 4,426,739 3.17
Jean Marc Huot 138,565,424 99.11 1,239,921 0.89
Joseph B. Leonard 136,177,024 97.40 3,628,321 2.60
Madeleine Paquin 134,606,081 96.28 5,199,264 3.72
David I. Richardson 99,329,259 71.05 40,476,086 28.95
Roy J. Romanow 138,432,586 99.02 1,372,759 0.98
Calin Rovinescu 137,630,804 98.44 2,174,541 1.56
Vagn Sørensen 121,011,412 86.56 18,793,933 13.44
Kathleen P. Taylor 135,445,476 96.88 4,359,869 3.12
Annette Verschuren 132,703,518 94.92 7,101,827 5.08
Michael M. Wilson 138,182,183 98.84 1,623,162 1.16

Final voting results on all matters voted on at the meeting will be filed on SEDAR.