Uganda’s Tourism Minister launches new UWA Board

The Uganda Wildlife Authority’s 8th Board of Trustees was inaugurated by the Minister for Tourism, Wildlife and Antiquities, Dr. Maria Mutagamba. Chairman of the Board remains former Permanent Secretary in the ministry, Mr. Ben Otto.

The new board is comprised of Dr. Pantaleon Kasoma, Dr. Dianah Nalwanga Wabwire, Dr. Akankwasah Barirega, Eng. Ivan Batuma Mbabazi, Hon. Edward Baliddawa, Ms. Zigiti Zeridah, Mr. Kagumaho Kakuyo, Mr. Leonard Wamakote, and the organization’s Executive Director Dr. Andrew Seguya as the Board’s Secretary.

After a period of unparalleled upheavals under the previous Board, Ben Otto during his first term, restored sanity and order when he steered UWA into calmer waters. Former Tourism Minister Otafiire – who incidentally lost both his party primaries and then his election for MP as an independent candidate – had with the appointment of his personal physician as Chairman of the Board caused havoc with the organization and subsequently lost cases in court when former staff, including then Executive Director Moses Mapesa who challenged several of his appointments and decisions in the High Court.

The re-appointment of Ben Otto assures the continuation of the organization’s recovery from those controversy-riddled days and has been widely welcomed by Uganda’s conservation and tourism fraternity.