ASTA Board elects Executive Committee


ALEXANDRIA, Virginia – At its recent meeting at the Travel Retailing & Destination Expo in Los Angeles, ASTA’s Board of Directors re-elected Nina Meyer, CTC, MCC, DS, as ASTA President and Chair. Meyer will serve on the Board’s Executive Committee with John Lovell, CTC, who was re-elected to the position of Vice President and Secretary. Roger Block was elected to serve as ASTA’s Treasurer. Also serving on the Executive Committee will be Corporate Advisory Council (CAC) Chair Lee Thomas, CTC, who will serve as CAC-Member Director.

Nina Meyer began her career in the travel industry in 1976 as an independent contractor for CIA Travel. After her first two years in business, she had grown a large enough clientele that she was able to open her own agency, Vision Travel. Through Vision Travel, Meyer developed a tour operation for Laker, Arrow, and Eastern Airlines and established three branch locations in her first few years in business. In 2001, she merged Vision Travel with several other agencies to create TraveLeaders, which was ultimately acquired by what is now known as Travel Leaders Group. Meyer became the National Director of Leisure at Travel Leaders in 2005 and worked to develop preferred vendor relationships, generate revenue, expand and train the Independent Contractor Program, and mentor all management staff.

In April 2009, Meyer joined Express Travel as Director of Sales and Marketing. There, she lead initiatives to continue the company’s growth, as well as expand its role as a leader in luxury travel. An advocate for the industry, Meyer served four years as president of ASTA’s South Florida chapter and currently is past President of the International SKAL Club of Miami. She has also served on numerous task forces and committees for both ASTA and Virtuoso. Prior to serving as ASTA President and chair, Meyer was ASTA’s National Treasurer. Most recently, she was named interim CEO for the society.

The 2012/13 Executive Committee will serve a year term commencing at the end of ASTA’s Travel Retailing & Destination Expo. Serving on ASTA’s 2012/13 full, elected Board of Directors will be:


Roger Block
Jason Coleman
Jackie Friedman
Lois Howes
John Lovell
John I. Lovell
Nina Meyer
Scott Pinheiro
Karl Rosen
Lee Thomas, Member Director (CAC Chair)
Marc Casto, Member Director (CAC Vice Chair);
Dan Smith, NACTA-Member Director
Leo Zabinski (Carolinas Chapter), Chapter Presidents Council Chair
Ryan McGredy (Young Professionals Society Chapter), CPC Representative
Marilyn Zelaya (Northern California Chapter), CPC Representative
Michael Merrithew, ICPC Chair

ASTA’s governance structure calls for a Board of Directors that consists of nine national directors elected at-large for two-year, staggered terms, three chapter presidents, the chair of the International Chapter Presidents’ Council (ICPC), one NACTA member director, and two Corporate Advisory Council (CAC) members.