Nominations open for UNWTO Ulysses Awards

UNWTO NEW logo_38
UNWTO NEW logo_38
Written by editor

Nominations are officially open for the 2011 UN World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) Ulysses Awards.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Nominations are officially open for the 2011 UN World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) Ulysses Awards. The awards seek to recognize highly-innovative tourism projects which have contributed to tourism policy, governance, and other areas, such as the environment, socio-economic development, and new technologies.

The UNWTO Ulysses Awards reward initiatives and projects undertaken by public tourism institutions, tourism enterprises, and nonprofit institutions that have made a significant contribution to the advancement of tourism through innovation, in line with the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. The UNWTO Ulysses Awards are aligned with the objectives of the UNWTO Knowledge Network, a worldwide community of innovation supporting knowledge management initiatives in tourism.

UNWTO confers three awards for each of the following categories:

• UNWTO Ulysses Award for Innovation in Governance
• UNWTO Ulysses Award for Innovation in Enterprises
• UNWTO Ulysses Award for Innovation in Non-Governmental Organizations

The winners will be selected by an international jury of tourism experts and will be awarded during the UNWTO Ulysses Awards Ceremony, to be celebrated in Madrid, Spain, on May 31, 2011.

Nominations will be accepted until March 31, 2011

Previous winners include:

The Ministry of Sports and Tourism of Thailand, the General Commission for Tourism and Antiquities (Saudi Arabia), the Costa Rica Institute for Tourism, the Blackstone Valley Tourism Council (USA), Tourism Kwazulu Natal (South Africa), the Ministry of Tourism of Brazil, SEGITTUR (Spain), Tourism Portugal, and the Slovenian Tourism Board and Valencia Tourism (Spain) in the category of public tourism institutions.

Riu Hotels and Resorts (Cape Verde), Intelligent Leisure Solutions and Discover Travel Group (Brazil), JSC Gero Serviso Garantija (Lithuania), ACCOR, Modul University Vienna (Austria), and the Catalan Association of Travel Agencies (Spain) in the category of enterprises.

BIRD-Biodiversity Research and Development Center (Nepal), the Business Foundation European Community Chile (Chile), the Dinastía Vivanco Foundation (Spain), the European Network of Tourism Villages, Québec Tourism Industry Corporation (Canada), and the Foundation of the Spanish Railroads (Spain) and The Travel Foundation (UK) in the category of non-governmental organizations.

Please address your application to: Eduardo Fayos-Solà, Executive-Secretary, UNWTO Knowledge Network, Email: [email protected]


UNWTO Ulysses Prize and Awards:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author


Editor in chief is Linda Hohnholz.