New SA Tourism board members appointed by Van Schalkwyk


SA Tourism’s new chairman is Frank Kilbourn, it was announced on Sunday.

Kilbourn used to be its deputy chairman, the office of Tourism Minister Marthinus van Schalkwyk said in a statement.

Van Schalkwyk had appointed Zwelibanzi Mntambo as the new deputy chairman.

SA Tourism is the national tourism agency responsible for marketing South Africa as a destination. The new appointments were made because term of office of the previous board was expiring.

Van Schalkwyk also appointed to the board SA Airways CEO Sizwe Mzimela, Connex Travel managing director Kananelo Makhetha, broadcaster Tumi Makgabo, and Southern Sun managing director Graham Wood.

Other members appointed were Discovery Holdings executive director Ayanda Ntsaluba, Business Unity SA CEO Nomaxabis Majokweni, Board of Airline Representatives of SA CEO Alan Moore, and marketer Thebe Ikalafeng.

They would each serve a three-year term from June.

The chairman of the Tourism Grading Council would serve on the board as an ex officio member.

“I am very pleased with the candidature of the new board,” said Van Schalkwyk.

“Their vast experience in the tourism industry coupled with their strategic leadership and management skills will serve the industry well,” he said.