Perth Region Tourism Organization announces new chair

Afrikaans Afrikaans Albanian Albanian Amharic Amharic Arabic Arabic Armenian Armenian Azerbaijani Azerbaijani Basque Basque Belarusian Belarusian Bengali Bengali Bosnian Bosnian Bulgarian Bulgarian Catalan Catalan Cebuano Cebuano Chichewa Chichewa Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Chinese (Traditional) Corsican Corsican Croatian Croatian Czech Czech Danish Danish Dutch Dutch English English Esperanto Esperanto Estonian Estonian Filipino Filipino Finnish Finnish French French Frisian Frisian Galician Galician Georgian Georgian German German Greek Greek Gujarati Gujarati Haitian Creole Haitian Creole Hausa Hausa Hawaiian Hawaiian Hebrew Hebrew Hindi Hindi Hmong Hmong Hungarian Hungarian Icelandic Icelandic Igbo Igbo Indonesian Indonesian Irish Irish Italian Italian Japanese Japanese Javanese Javanese Kannada Kannada Kazakh Kazakh Khmer Khmer Korean Korean Kurdish (Kurmanji) Kurdish (Kurmanji) Kyrgyz Kyrgyz Lao Lao Latin Latin Latvian Latvian Lithuanian Lithuanian Luxembourgish Luxembourgish Macedonian Macedonian Malagasy Malagasy Malay Malay Malayalam Malayalam Maltese Maltese Maori Maori Marathi Marathi Mongolian Mongolian Myanmar (Burmese) Myanmar (Burmese) Nepali Nepali Norwegian Norwegian Pashto Pashto Persian Persian Polish Polish Portuguese Portuguese Punjabi Punjabi Romanian Romanian Russian Russian Samoan Samoan Scottish Gaelic Scottish Gaelic Serbian Serbian Sesotho Sesotho Shona Shona Sindhi Sindhi Sinhala Sinhala Slovak Slovak Slovenian Slovenian Somali Somali Spanish Spanish Sudanese Sudanese Swahili Swahili Swedish Swedish Tajik Tajik Tamil Tamil Telugu Telugu Thai Thai Turkish Turkish Ukrainian Ukrainian Urdu Urdu Uzbek Uzbek Vietnamese Vietnamese Welsh Welsh Xhosa Xhosa Yiddish Yiddish Yoruba Yoruba Zulu Zulu

Perth Region Tourism Organization Inc. (PRTO) today elected Meade to replace outgoing Chair Longley

Stepping into the role of Chair being left by John Longley AM, is Michael Meade, a tourism and hospitality executive and consultant with extensive strategic management and marketing experience spanning more than forty years.

Perth Region Tourism Organization Inc. (PRTO) today elected Meade to replace outgoing Chair Longley who has held the position for fourteen years.

Michael has worked across Asia-Pacific in senior marketing and management roles with major hotel companies and tourism organizations. He was Acting CEO of Tourism Fiji and helped to reposition the nation from a regional to a global brand. He assisted Vanuatu to recover from a devastating cyclone with a tourism recovery plan.

Michael began his career in aviation with British Airways in the UK, moving to Perth in the
1970s. He was part of the pre-opening team for the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle (now Esplanade Hotel Fremantle by Rydges) and Merlin Perth Hotel (now Hyatt Regency Perth) and Observation City Resort Hotel (now Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough).

In the past two decades Michael has had a broad portfolio which included Regional Director of Marketing, Australia, New Zealand, South Pacific for the Intercontinental Hotels Group (IHG), Senior Vice President Sales and Marketing for China’s largest hotel group Jin Jiang Hotels based in Shanghai and Senior Vice President Sales and Marketing Rendezvous Hospitality Group before heading Tourism Fiji as Acting Chief Executive Officer in 2011 and 2012. After 20 years being based in Sydney Michael returned to Perth in 2017 and is the Principal of 2M Hospitality a marketing and management advisory.

Michael joins the five Elected Members and four Appointed Members, selected for their skill set to complement those elected by the PRTO Membership base. Three precincts were contested in this year’s election, which were Avon Valley with three nominees, Fremantle & Rottnest Island with two nominees and Sunset Coast with three nominees. Following a ballot, Victoria Williams as the elected candidate for Avon Valley, Olwyn Williams for Fremantle & Rottnest Island and Nathan Baker for Sunset Coast.

“We are delighted with the interest to contribute to our Board, which provide the strategic direction for Destination Perth”, said long serving outgoing Chair John Longley AM. “Michael was appointed to the Board at our October board meeting and further elected as Chair today. I would like to personally welcome Michael to the Board and know I am passing the baton to a highly-qualified Chair”. Newly appointed Board Members also include Scott Alderson, Director of Sales, Crown Perth Hotels and Deb Carr, Branch Manager – WA, ATEC.

“It is a new chapter for Destination Perth; we began the financial year with a new CEO Tracey Cinavas-Prosser, following Noeleen Pearson’s retirement after fourteen years. I have enjoyed my time as Chair of PRTO immensely” said John. “After many years as Chair the time has come for me also to retire and make way for a new generation to build on the work achieved over my tenure”.

The newly-elected and nominated Board Members join the existing Board of Jeromy Cotterill – Elected Member Perth, Grant Brinklow – Treasurer & Elected Member Swan Valley & Darling Range, James Mulholland, Director, Rottnest Fast Ferries – Appointed Member and Myrianthe Riddy. Proprietor, Mandurah Cruises – Appointed Member.