Read us | Listen to us | Watch us | Join Live Events | Turn Off Ads | Live |

Click on your language to translate this article:

Afrikaans Afrikaans Albanian Albanian Amharic Amharic Arabic Arabic Armenian Armenian Azerbaijani Azerbaijani Basque Basque Belarusian Belarusian Bengali Bengali Bosnian Bosnian Bulgarian Bulgarian Catalan Catalan Cebuano Cebuano Chichewa Chichewa Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Chinese (Traditional) Corsican Corsican Croatian Croatian Czech Czech Danish Danish Dutch Dutch English English Esperanto Esperanto Estonian Estonian Filipino Filipino Finnish Finnish French French Frisian Frisian Galician Galician Georgian Georgian German German Greek Greek Gujarati Gujarati Haitian Creole Haitian Creole Hausa Hausa Hawaiian Hawaiian Hebrew Hebrew Hindi Hindi Hmong Hmong Hungarian Hungarian Icelandic Icelandic Igbo Igbo Indonesian Indonesian Irish Irish Italian Italian Japanese Japanese Javanese Javanese Kannada Kannada Kazakh Kazakh Khmer Khmer Korean Korean Kurdish (Kurmanji) Kurdish (Kurmanji) Kyrgyz Kyrgyz Lao Lao Latin Latin Latvian Latvian Lithuanian Lithuanian Luxembourgish Luxembourgish Macedonian Macedonian Malagasy Malagasy Malay Malay Malayalam Malayalam Maltese Maltese Maori Maori Marathi Marathi Mongolian Mongolian Myanmar (Burmese) Myanmar (Burmese) Nepali Nepali Norwegian Norwegian Pashto Pashto Persian Persian Polish Polish Portuguese Portuguese Punjabi Punjabi Romanian Romanian Russian Russian Samoan Samoan Scottish Gaelic Scottish Gaelic Serbian Serbian Sesotho Sesotho Shona Shona Sindhi Sindhi Sinhala Sinhala Slovak Slovak Slovenian Slovenian Somali Somali Spanish Spanish Sudanese Sudanese Swahili Swahili Swedish Swedish Tajik Tajik Tamil Tamil Telugu Telugu Thai Thai Turkish Turkish Ukrainian Ukrainian Urdu Urdu Uzbek Uzbek Vietnamese Vietnamese Welsh Welsh Xhosa Xhosa Yiddish Yiddish Yoruba Yoruba Zulu Zulu

Russia introduces new e-visa for citizens of 52 countries

Russia introduces new electronic visas
Russia introduces new e-visa for citizens of 52 countries
Written by Harry S. Johnson

While Russia’s borders have partially reopened following a nearly total border shut-down in the spring, most foreigners are still not able to enter the country. 

But starting on January 1, 2021, citizens of 52 countries will be able to visit Russia with new electronic visa. The new e-visa provision was announced in Russian Prime Minister’s order published Wednesday. 

The e-visa system is expected to boost Russia’s tourism industry — which has already lost at least $7 billion in revenue since pandemic restrictions were introduced in late March — once borders reopen.

Who is eligible? 

  • Citizens of 52 countries, including EU member states, China, India, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, Turkey and Japan. 
  • E-visa holders can enter Russia for tourism, business and humanitarian activities as well as for private reasons such as visits to Russian relatives or friends. 

How to get it? 

  • Eligible visitors will be able to apply for a visa on a special website administered by the Russian Foreign Ministry or through a mobile application. 
  • Applicants will be asked to fill out a form, upload a photo and scanned copy of their passport and pay a $40 processing fee. Children under the age of six are exempt from the processing fee. 
  • E-visa applicants are not required to submit an invitation letter, proof of accommodation or ticket bookings. 

How long will it take?

  • Applications will be processed in no more than 4 days.
  • The visas will be valid for 60 days from the day of issuance. 
  • A single e-visa allows foreigners to remain in Russia for up to 16 days. Visitors have to obtain a new visa each time they plan to enter Russia.

What to do at the border? 

  • E-visa holders can enter Russia through 29 border crossings, including international airports in Moscow, St. Petersburg, Yekaterinburg, Kazan, Krasnodar and Novosibirsk. 
  • Visitors will need to present a printed copy of their e-visa notification as well as a valid passport at border control.