ASEAN Tourism Association announces new leadership


ASEAN Tourism Association (ASEANTA) held it’s AGM for 2017 on Sunday, 2nd April 2017 at the Dorsett Kuala Lumpur Hotel, Malaysia. The elections for the new Management Committee was conducted at the AGM.

ASEANTA is pleased to announce the line-up of the Office Bearers of the Management Committee for the term 2017 to 2019:-

Mr. Devinder Ohri (President of National Association of TravelAgents Singapore) was retained as President for another term.Mr. Sam Cheah (President of Malaysian Association of Hotels) was retained as Deputy President for another term. Ms. Margaret Heng (Executive Director of Singapore Hotel Association) replaced Datuk Hamzah Rahmat (President of

Malaysia Association of Tour & Travel Agents, who successfully completed his 2nd Term of Office at MATTA) as the new Secretary General. Ms.Supawan Tanomkieatipume (President of Thai Hotels Association) was retained as Treasurer for another term.

Mr. Sabli Arsad (President of Association of Travel Agents Brunei), Mr. Charlie Yu (Consultant, Philippine Airlines) and Mr. Jackie Thet (President of Union of Myanmar Travel Association) were elected as Management Committee Members.

ASEANTA President, Mr. Devinder Ohri welcomed the new Management Committee and thanked them for their willingness to serve the Association in the Management Committee in the true spirit of ASEAN cooperation.

ASEANTA is currently focusing on their VisitAsean@50 initiatives such as developing a website on ASEAN Tourism Honours List and the now combined “ASEAN Sky Caravan &

ASEANTA Excellence Awards 2017” Event which will be held on 08th August 2017 (ASEAN Day) in Jakarta, Indonesia.