Click to join an upcoming live event

Turn off Ads (click)

Click on your language to translate this article:

Afrikaans Afrikaans Albanian Albanian Amharic Amharic Arabic Arabic Armenian Armenian Azerbaijani Azerbaijani Basque Basque Belarusian Belarusian Bengali Bengali Bosnian Bosnian Bulgarian Bulgarian Catalan Catalan Cebuano Cebuano Chichewa Chichewa Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Chinese (Traditional) Corsican Corsican Croatian Croatian Czech Czech Danish Danish Dutch Dutch English English Esperanto Esperanto Estonian Estonian Filipino Filipino Finnish Finnish French French Frisian Frisian Galician Galician Georgian Georgian German German Greek Greek Gujarati Gujarati Haitian Creole Haitian Creole Hausa Hausa Hawaiian Hawaiian Hebrew Hebrew Hindi Hindi Hmong Hmong Hungarian Hungarian Icelandic Icelandic Igbo Igbo Indonesian Indonesian Irish Irish Italian Italian Japanese Japanese Javanese Javanese Kannada Kannada Kazakh Kazakh Khmer Khmer Korean Korean Kurdish (Kurmanji) Kurdish (Kurmanji) Kyrgyz Kyrgyz Lao Lao Latin Latin Latvian Latvian Lithuanian Lithuanian Luxembourgish Luxembourgish Macedonian Macedonian Malagasy Malagasy Malay Malay Malayalam Malayalam Maltese Maltese Maori Maori Marathi Marathi Mongolian Mongolian Myanmar (Burmese) Myanmar (Burmese) Nepali Nepali Norwegian Norwegian Pashto Pashto Persian Persian Polish Polish Portuguese Portuguese Punjabi Punjabi Romanian Romanian Russian Russian Samoan Samoan Scottish Gaelic Scottish Gaelic Serbian Serbian Sesotho Sesotho Shona Shona Sindhi Sindhi Sinhala Sinhala Slovak Slovak Slovenian Slovenian Somali Somali Spanish Spanish Sudanese Sudanese Swahili Swahili Swedish Swedish Tajik Tajik Tamil Tamil Telugu Telugu Thai Thai Turkish Turkish Ukrainian Ukrainian Urdu Urdu Uzbek Uzbek Vietnamese Vietnamese Welsh Welsh Xhosa Xhosa Yiddish Yiddish Yoruba Yoruba Zulu Zulu
Travel News

Six cities confirmed as headquarters for Olympic soccer matches

Written by editor

It’s confirmed. In addition to Rio de Janeiro, five other Brazilian cities will host soccer matches during the 2016 Olympic Games.

It’s confirmed. In addition to Rio de Janeiro, five other Brazilian cities will host soccer matches during the 2016 Olympic Games. The 58 games are a sure-fire draw for tourists and will be played in the following six cities and seven stadia: Belo Horizonte (Mineirão Stadium), Brasilia (Mane Garrincha Stadium), Manaus (Amazon Arena), Rio de Janeiro (Maracana and Olympic Stadium), Salvador (Arena Fonte Nova) and São Paulo (Arena Corinthians).

The official announcement was made on Monday, March 16, in Zurich, Switzerland, after a meeting between the Olympic Committee and the International Football Federation (FIFA). For the president of Embratur (Brazilian Tourism Board), Vicente Neto, the expansion of the Olympics to five Brazilian destinations strengthens the promotion of the range of tourist attractions and options for the country and reinforces Brazil’s ability to receive tourists in its five regions.

“It is rewarding for the Olympic Games, and also for the promotion of Brazil, to expand the range of destinations to be visited by tourists during this sporting event. All cities already chosen proved, during the World Cup, that they are extremely capable of welcoming a large number of visitors. In addition, they are culturally rich, with a huge range of typical Brazilian tourism products,” said Neto.

The expectation is that the success experienced during the World Cup is repeated. We also hope that more international visitors discover Brazil and the hospitality of the Brazilian people, strengthening Brazil’s position as a major tourist destination.

Soccer in the Olympics – A total of 16 teams will compete in the man’s and 12 in the woman’s championship. So far, Brazil is ranked as the host country in both categories, along with Argentina for the men’s tournament, and Colombia for females. The remaining places will be defined by continental qualifying tournaments by April 2016.

The men’s Olympic competition begins on August 4, with the final on August 20 at the Maracana Stadium. The teams will be divided into 4 brackets, with players no older than 23 years.

In the women’s tournament, the competition starts on August 3 and the winners will be known on 19 August at the Maracana Stadium. The 12 teams will be divided into three groups and there is no age restriction for the players.